Is Ruby Chocolate Vegan?

Is Ruby Chocolate Vegan?

At this time, vegan ruby chocolate does not exist. This is because ruby chocolate is the proprietary creation of the Belgian company Callebaut, which first released it in 2017, in China. In fact, unlike other types of chocolate (dark chocolate, for example), it’s not even possible to make ruby chocolate at home. There’s no recipe or ruler for ruby chocolate. But what we do know, is what it’s made out of.

Ruby chocolate is made in a milk chocolate style, using cocoa butter and ruby cocoa beans, as well as sugar and milk powder, and a few select additional ingredients. It’s believed that these additional ingredients are huge factors in what makes the chocolate so fruity, while the milk powder and sugar are what make it creamy and sweet. To make a vegan ruby chocolate bar, you’d have to swap out the regular cane sugar for a vegan-friendly alternative. Then you’d have to find a dairy-free milk powder, such as oat milk powder or even coconut milk powder.

Unfortunately, all of these switches would change the chocolate’s flavor in such a way that it may not taste like the ruby chocolate we’ve come to vaguely understand. Beyond that, since Callebaut is the exclusive manufacturer of ruby chocolate, it’s up to them to create a vegan ruby chocolate version, and then to make it available to the wider market.